Thursday, January 23, 2014

Love Plus One by Andrea Smith
G-Man Series Book #2

It had been a year ago that 19-year old Lindsey Dennison's life had taken an abrupt turn.

While away at Cornell for her freshman year at college, her parents' marriage had imploded. Lindsey learned the harsh truth about her father, and his involvement in criminal activity that was the focus of a major federal bust. Her father had slipped out of the country with his lover and cohort in crime, Susanne shortly before the FBI arrest warrants could be served. He was now a fugitive from justice, deserting his only child. Lindsey was trying to pick up the pieces of the life she now realized had been a house of secrets and lies for all of those years.

After her mother's marriage to Eric Slater (Slate), one of the special agents of the FBI involved in the federal investigation that occurred in their hometown of Indianapolis, Lindsey decides to start fresh at a new college close tom where her mother, step-father and baby brother Bryce are now living outside of Washington, D.C.

Life is different now for Lindsey, but  it is about to change even more. Her step-father's partner and best friend in the bureau, Trace "Taz" Matthews, is about to rock her world in more ways than one.  Taz is nearly ten years older than Lindsey, but her initial interest in him is physical only. Lindsey has a problem that she is certain Taz can fix- but will he?

Despite their best efforts, Lindsey and Taz are tossed together by fate on more than one occasion, and this G-Man does not appreciate the distraction.

There is a budding romance on the horizon for Lindsey with a wealthy, Ivy-League type guy she meets at school by the name of Kyzer Stanfield. Kyzer's interest in Lindsey does not sit well for Taz. When Lindsey must leave school to return home to help her mother, Taz is relieved that she will be distanced from the pursuit of Kyzer… but not for long.

Things are never quite as they seem. Lindsey will learn a brutal lesson about trust, compassion and strength. Taz will learn lessons about love, intimacy and honor, and that sometimes doing the right thing has consequences.

Warning: Explicit Sex, contains rape scene. 

Love Plus one is the second book in author Andrea Smith's G-Man series. This book is tied to Diamond Girl, the first book in this series, but can be read as a stand alone (however, I recommend reading Diamond Girl first because it was AWESOME, Click here to read my review of Diamond Girl). The author does a fantastic job of setting the stage and catching you up on the backstory right away, so even a new reader to this series would not feel left behind.

Lindsey is "innocent" in the natural definition of the word, but the past year has been full of drama that causes her to grow up quickly and lose some of that innocence. Taz is attracted to Lindsey, but the 10 year age difference and the fact that she is his best friend/partner's new stepdaughter forces him to try to fight the attraction. Once Lindsey makes it clear she wants Taz there is no turning back or either of them. Taz decides he needs to be with her to get her out of his system, so he can move on, but the more time he spends with her the more he realizes he may never want to get her out of his system.
these two have intense chemistry and they are super HOT together.

Love Plus One is full of action, drama, love, lust and just the right amount of angst for this reader. I found it to be a little darker than Diamond Girl, but just as intriguing. I love the way the author writes such  unpredictable plot twists. It is refreshing to finish a book that I didn't figure out the ending before the 70% mark. This book leaves a small open ending to set the stage for Night Moves, the next book in this series, but Lindsey and Taz's story is over.. or just beginning, depending on how you look at it :) I am ready for Darcy's story and just purchased Night Moves!

I am giving Love Plus One 4.5 Stars and adding it to my Favorites shelf on Goodreads!

Let's Chat: 
I get a lot of ARC's from authors in exchange for honest reviews, I was not given a copy of any of the books in this series for review. I  purchased this book for my own enjoyment and loved it so much I decided to review it. If you have read or do read this series, I would love to hear your thoughts! Please leave me some comments below :)

Reading Order of G-Man Series:
I currently plan to read and review this entire series, here is the reading order for when you plan to do the same, trust me, after reading Diamond Girl you will want more from this series!

G-Man Series by Andrea Smith

Buy Links:
Love Plus One on Amazon
Love Plus One on
Diamond Girl on Amazon
Diamond Girl on

Author Links:

Until next time, Happy Reading! :)

No comments:

Post a Comment